On proving something

We are so obsessed with proving something. Anything.

May kailangan akong patunayan.

Kailangan by this age may napatunayan na ako.

Wala ka pang napapatunayan…

etc.

I myself am guilty of this. And I don’t know about you but it’s become a burden for me. If I haven’t achieved anything by this age, it makes me think that I’m too old. If my achievements are meager compared with others, I feel useless and unworthy.

Yesterday, I suddenly realized that once you give your life to the Lord, you don’t have that drive to prove anything to people anymore. It’s humbling, really. Ever since I was baptized with the Holy Spirit some things have changed. Sure, I still am a big fat sinner and my heart is still rotten but I see some things in a different light and by the grace of God I wish this goes on. It hasn’t been easy especially because I am moody and I focus too much on my feelings and heart which are easily deceived (plus the world and everything in it is just too tempting) but God never fails to remind me, in his own quintessential ways, that He is there. That He loves me. That I don’t need to be burdened with the thought of proving anything in this life because Jesus, His Son, already did everything for me on the cross. My worth is not tied with what I accomplish in this life.

The next time the devil tries to lure me into thinking that I am not good enough, I will tell him that my God, Jesus, is more than good enough and I am very fine with that.

He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life. (Revelation 21:6)

Leave a Reply

