(the failed) Banana Oatmeal Pancake

There was a time when I visited Erwan Heussaff’s food blog, The Fat Kid Inside almost everyday. He inspires me in the “living healthy” department and the dishes he whips look (and I bet, taste) delicious. I in fact have a couple I’d like to try myself when the time, motivation, and money for ingredients and utensils present themselves. #excuses

Then he collaborated with Quaker Oats Philippines to make a series of Power Meals. The very first recipe was for Banana Oatmeal Pancakes. Now this one has minimal ingredients and is easy to cook so I tried my luck (full vid here).

Only, I didn’t have flour, baking powder, sugar-free maple syrup nor cinnamon. Go figure how my pancake ended up like.

20140312_124409Plus I think I sort of put too much Oats and forgot that they expand and absorb water. Also, I overdid the “cooking” part so my pancakes were dark brown instead of light.

20140312_125104Anyway, all’s well that ends well. Used Honey that has been sitting on my counter for months (I hear it’s the only food that doesn’t spoil) instead of syrup and voila, my very own Banana Oatmeal Pancake. I’d like to say it tasted great but I’d be lying to myself. Let’s just say it was better than I expected though I only managed to eat 1/2 of one pancake. Not fluffy at all (maybe due to the lack of flour and baking powder). And since I put way too much Oats, the middle was uncooked. Actually, it occupies the bottom spot on my “Delicious Pancakes” list. The ones sold for 1 peso each in front of my elementary school tasted better thanks to margarine. That’s it! I should have put margarine but then it defeats the purpose of a healthy pancake. Gah, why is it so hard for a carnivore-turning omnivore like me to eat healthy?

Presentation wise, it’s nice, no?

20140312_125937

 

In cooking, just like in life, failures are inevitable. At least they teach us something. Like, how you can never ever make decent pancakes without flour.

Or maybe, I’m just fit for eating food tasting and not cooking?

2 thoughts on “(the failed) Banana Oatmeal Pancake

Leave a Reply

