How much for a [blow] job?

Serbis is not for the close-minded and conservative. It makes you uncomfortable. It challenges you to keep watching while a part of your mind badly wants to close the media player and watch another film, preferably a funny one. It’s the kind where you’re afraid someone might walk through the door unannounced and catch you in the act of watching because it’s embarrassing.

Out of curiosity I decided to see the film in between studying. Now I wish I didn’t click that icon but it’s too late, I already saw the ugliness and the damage has been done.

http://www.ecranlarge.com/upload/movies/poster/movie12549/original_322095.jpg
http://www.ecranlarge.com/upload/movies/poster/movie12549/original_322095.jpg

The first scene is that of a naked young woman saying “I love you” seductively over and over in front of a mirror while a young boy peeps from the slightly-opened door. Then there’s Coco Martin’s purulent boil which, though it might have grossed the hell out of some people, didn’t bother me one bit thanks to an experience during one of my clinical duties where I literally drained 2 liters of purulent discharge from the back of a young boy. Next there’s a man ejaculating the fruits of his labor into a bottle of Coke. And the ugliness goes on. Worst for me is the flooded bathroom because that’s scarier than not having a bathroom at all. I swear I can smell the stench.

These are things that are actually happening but we are either too preoccupied or too prideful to admit (maybe too ashamed?). Or better yet, our parents, school, community and society are too protective of us they don’t want us to see. What kind of stupid thinks one can keep reality at bay forever? Not that I’m telling this should be shown to everyone without second thought.

The world is not perfect and though the people in the film appear dirty and horny and immoral and cheap, they’re not the worst. Them being part of the lower-class just makes the film more cinematic, I guess. If the setting was a posh hotel in some fancy city instead of a movie theater that has seen better days and the characters the crème de la crème in terms of net worth and physical beauty instead of bums, some of us would have been titillated instead of uncomfortable.

What I said in the last sentence of my second paragraph, I take it back. Though I still hope that we can be much better than this, I’m thankful I saw this film. It takes a lot of ugliness to appreciate what beauty is.

Leave a Reply

