October ’13 in pictures

Based on the pictures below, I guess most of October was spent eating. Hence, the few kilos I gained back. Not a good sign given it’s only 2 months before the year ends. Oh well papel, what’s digested is digested.

Taft Avenue corner Pedro Gil on a rainy day. Rumor has it the most dangerous strain of Leptospirosis can be found in the flood waters of this area.

SONY DSCThing I always crave for as of the moment: Ube McDip

IMG_0053Thing I missed which lived up to my fond memories of its taste: Beef Pepper Rice

IMG_1301Thing I ignored for years only to find out it’s actually good hence I should eat it more often: Pancit ng taga Malabon

IMG_1393Postcards from all over the world thanks to Postcrossing!

IMG_0161Goodies from Milkjoy, allegedly the milk supplier of Starbucks Coffee. Currently addicted to their Strawberry Yogurt, 130 pesos for 1 liter good for 14 days (it doesn’t even last half as long in my fridge).

IMG_1544Thing I wish was sold as abundantly and as cheap in Manila like in Batangas: Siomai. 10 pesos for 3 pieces and definitely not mass-produced in a factory. Didn’t know shrimp paste and lots of garlic would improve the taste. Ugh.

IMG_1555Place that inspires me to do everything just to set foot in Japan again: Little Tokyo, Makati. In fact, during our last visit there to try Okonomiyaki (pictured below), Dai and I ended up calling a placement agency and daydreaming about studying Nihonggo in Japan. Only for our bubble to burst after reality kicked in.

IMG_1623When I first tried this dish, I was still a carnivore so I opted for just noodles and no cabbage. This time, Dai and I only had cabbage because the ones with noodles were more expensive.

IMG_1621Thing I’d like to do more often: Isang bote with my sufer dufer friends aka SDF. Gah, can’t remember the last time we chilled on the 7th floor of Robinson’s Tower while sipping from a bottle and spilling almost everything out.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetThings that bring back college memories: Spaghetti, Mango shake and Cheeseburger with scrambled egg from Giddy’s. Lunch, 15 or 30 minute breaks in between subjects, loitering after class, complaining about the odor sticking to our uniforms, complaining about the crowd, the food and all. Yet we always come back for more. hehe

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetThing that tasted better the first time I visited: Honeybread from Noriter. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still delicious just not as amazing as I remember it to be.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetBirthday celebration: Papi’s 22nd at Abi’s crib.

IMG_2267Must-haves for a long night especially if there are only four of you.

IMG_2077Something I think is overpriced that I still patronize: Razon’s Halo-Halo. Their shaved ice is just perfect. I find it too sweet soooooooooo extra shaved ice please. hehe

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetPlace which made me smile and Buffalo Wings which Dai and Kirk claim are better than flaming wings (I disagree): Sunrise Buckets. Also, a Menu where I’d like to try every item listed if only it’s more budget-friendly.
IMG_2148Something I know is not good for me yet I still want and consume (in massive quantities): Mang Larry’s in UP Diliman especially Goto and the drink-able vinegar. Thanks Dai for the treat! 500 pesos worth of grilled goodness for four people please.

dgfsPlace I’d like to hang out on on a weekly basis if only it wasn’t too far and too expensive: Rue Bourbon. Big Ass glass of Caramel Beer and Roasted Hazelnut. The former has a nice aftertaste while the latter, by all other criteria, is better. I will surely be back (definitely on a weekday when the density of people is not that high).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetYes, this plate of Nachos is mouthwatering but it’s more or less 500 pesos.

IMG_2191Historical Kitchen: the one in Jose Rizal’s family house in Calamba, anyone?

IMG_4999The only thing I’m ordering at Jollibee for the past month: Cheesy Bacon Mushroom Burger. I dunno, I like this very much. It’s messy to eat thanks to the cheese sauce and the bacon doesn’t come off in one piece if you bite. Better call Jollibee Delivery.

IMG_2156Place I’d be a regular customer of if only it’s located within walking distance from where I live: Kanto Freestyle Breakfast. Because I’m too lazy to commute for 20 minutes just to have breakfast any time of the day. For someone who refused to eat champorado for 21 years, I was mindblown during my last visit — didn’t know it would be that good with tuyo and milk. Also, the amount of chocolate on their pancakes. And their Vigan Longganisa. Ugh. I. WANT. BREAKFAST.

sdfsA Holiday that will never be the same without Tito Del: All Saints and All Souls. I used to tag along when you buy flowers at midnight (that’s when the prices drop). This year, you’re the one we bought flowers for.

IMG_2360And…the start of something new.

IMG_2453

9 thoughts on “October ’13 in pictures

      1. Over yung Batangas! Ang saklap nung luluwasin mo pa talaga yung gatas. HAHAHA. It’s not so joyful after all. Chaughs. πŸ™‚

        Buti na lang nakapag PCC ako nung weekend. Ang sarap pala nung chocolate milk nila dun! Ang kwela pa nung lalagyan, akala ko dextrose. πŸ˜€

      2. haha. oonga e, hindi justifiable ang effort. kung sakaling mapadaan ka na lang sa Batangas or pag napadaan ulit ako tapos ipapadala ko na lang sayo. :]

        Nag elbi ka ulit? ang saya naman. Ang cute no? naalala ko yung mga juice na tig pipiso noong bata ako. hehe

      3. What is ang sweet nung ipapadala, heehee! Oo nga sakaling magawi ako dun, bibili ako. Kaya pala mura, kasi malayo. πŸ˜€

        Yep, nag elbi ako ulit! :)) I was with Jov and Kaisa people last weekend kasi FR ng org sa Pansol, though ako lang yung pumunta ng Elbi. I tell you, I have this spiritual connection with LB–that and Chinatown. πŸ˜€

      4. well, sweet daw ako minsan. chos. haha. sa december siguro ako makakapunta pa. oongae kasi kung presyong maynila baka mahal na yun. :]

        eh kasi may something. haha. ako rin may special affinity sa binondo. sa elbi, kailangan ko munang umakyat ng makiling para malaman. :]

Leave a Reply

