Victorious relationships

It’ll be a sleepless night. I’m writing a paper (or rather, three papers) for a friend for a fee. Didn’t want to accept the offer at first but I needed the money. And though it would be mentally exhausting, I decided a little exercise wouldn’t hurt especially now that it feels like I’m losing my mind after spending several days catching up on Naruto Shippuuden, daydreaming and doing nothing else that one can consider as “productive”.

Anyway, I decided to take a break and make up for lost time. Only one post in September? Psh.

This is where Ate Joannie comes in.

Have you ever met someone so kind, so sure about her beliefs and convictions, so prayerful, and so filled with the presence of God in her life that it unsettled you? I have. And honestly speaking, it made me uncomfortable big time. No one can be that kind and patient. She’s probably just showing off. No one can talk about God all the time. She probably has nothing better to talk about. No one can look at the future and be that optimistic about it. I bet she’s unpopular among her peers.

That’s what the pessimistic me thought when I first met Ate Joannie more than two  years ago. At that time, I was well on my way to becoming as paranoid as my father, thinking that everyone’s out to get me. That people are only good if you’re good to them or if they need something from you. Not really sure where this cynicism of mine stemmed from. It’s not like I was betrayed big time or something, guess I was just affected by the things I see and the negativity of the world.

Over the years though, I have come to realize that there are many more like her out there. That the world is not as bad as I once thought it was. In internet-speak, faith in humanity: restored!

Humans can never be perfect but we can always try to be better versions of ourselves. We can always try to imitate the One who is perfect. Our patience can always be lengthened, our hearts softened, our minds honed, our character improved and our faith, strengthened.

I haven’t seen Ate Joannie in more than a year and it was a blessing to spend one Sunday afternoon with her and Dai at Century Park Hotel where she treated us to delicious pastries.

pageA mango cake of some sort

SONY DSCAnd the best cream cheesecake I have ever had in my life (as of September 29, 2013). It’s light and delicious and it’s everything I hoped a cheesecake would be. Up to now I’m still looking forward to the next time I’ll have a bite of this heavenly delight.

SONY DSCAfter Ate Joannie left, Dai and I agreed that she’s even better than when we last saw her. It’s really true that when God is at work in your life, you emit a certain glow that is very noticeable. She’s a perfect example of that. Thank you Ate Joannie!

SONY DSCAs for me, I still have a long way to go. I believe I’m still a rock, waiting to be polished. The process is slow for me because of my own inhibitions and faults. I’m too attached, too pleasure-seeking, too affected, too selfish, too sinful, too confused, too scared, too anxious, too impatient, etc. But I know, with God’s grace, I’ll get there someday.

3 thoughts on “Victorious relationships

  1. “Humans can never be perfect but we can always try to be better versions of ourselves. We can always try to imitate the One who is perfect. Our patience can always be lengthened, our hearts softened, our minds honed, our character improved and our faith, strengthened.” —–> THIIIIS! I couldn’t agree more:)

Leave a Reply

