Micah Barnes, MD and the nice guy syndrome

http://images.tvrage.com/shows/32/31711.jpg
http://images.tvrage.com/shows/32/31711.jpg

My mistake was watching the first episode of Emily Owens MD at 11:30 PM on a Saturday night. Before I knew it, I was done with all thirteen episodes of the first (and only) season of the show and I’m sort of pissed. Good thing there were awesome songs to download (case in point: King and Lionheart by Of Monsters and Men)

Oh, and it’s 10 AM on a Sunday, more or less.

Over the past years, Hollywood has taken a liking to making TV series based on the lives of health care professionals (House, Grey’s anatomy, Nip/Tuck, and the like) and Emily Owens MD is one of them so-called “medical drama”. It follows the life of the title character, a geek-turned-doctor, during her internship at Denver Hospital.

And the show is not really the best of the bunch but it doesn’t try to be in the first place. It’s riddled with cliches and viewers have seen better depictions of drama inside the four walls of a hospital but I like it just the same. Not as gripping as Breaking Bad where you can’t wait for the next episode nor as personal as How I Met Your Mother (Yes, Barney, Robin, Ted, Marshall and Lily ARE MY FRIENDS) but it’s good enough for me, a breath of fresh air. The characters were relate-able and overall, the show was charming, and cute.

http://media.avclub.com/images/419/419099/16x9/627.jpg?7914
http://media.avclub.com/images/419/419099/16×9/627.jpg?7914

Who am I kidding? The only reason why I finished Emily Owens MD is Micah Barnes played by Michael Rady (followed closely by Dr. Gina Bandari). Been swooned by him ever since he told Emily to “breathe” sometime between the 6th and 7th minute of the pilot episode. Every single scene, I wish for him to man up already and tell Emily or at least stop being all handsome and sweet and adorable and nice and handsome (I need to stress that out) so it wouldn’t break my heart because shows like these are predictable when it comes to who ends up with whom. I am disappointed because the protagonists almost always end up with the guys who rejected or broke their hearts first and who only came to realize their worth once they started dating the nice guys.

http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/eomd-mamie-gummer-michael-rady.jpg
http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/eomd-mamie-gummer-michael-rady.jpg

The show wasn’t lucky enough to be signed up for a second season and fans like me and some friends (who raved about the show it inspired me to watch it in the first place) are left to wonder what could have happened to the awkward but very talented Emily (whom I want to be friends with in real life) and the people around her especially since I think there are a lot of underdeveloped plot lines. But at the same time, I’m a bit okay with the idea of not seeing how Micah would be hurt if he finds out that Emily chose Will over him. Capital BOO!

Out of curiosity, I searched for “nice guy” and Google came up with curious results, Wikipedia being on top of the list. In an article in 1995, Urbaniak & Kilmann wrote:

Although women often portray themselves as wanting to date kind, sensitive, and emotionally expressive men, the nice guy stereotype contends that, when actually presented with a choice between such a ‘nice guy’ and an unkind, insensitive, emotionally-closed, ‘macho man’ or ‘jerk,’ they invariably reject the nice guy in favor of his ‘so-called’ macho competitor.

An interesting way to look at it, really. I was also told before that one of the reasons why women tend to go after the bad guys is because of the illusion that they can make the latter improve or change themselves for them (“If you love me, quit smoking/drinking/getting high/etc”). I admit that that can be flattering and confidence-boosting but I believe in the change-must-come-from-within-if-you-love-someone-you-don’t-make-it-a-task-to-change-them-in-the-first-place thingies.

Back to Micah Barnes, or Michael Rady. GET HIM ON A NEW SHOW OR MOVIE STAT! (and off I go to stalk him on the internetsz)

http://tvprincessmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Michael-Rady.jpg
http://tvprincessmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Michael-Rady.jpg
7 thoughts on “Micah Barnes, MD and the nice guy syndrome

  1. when i first laid my eyes on michael rady in sisterhood of the travelling pants..i knew that he’s my type.hihi. he has this boy-next-door-plus-nice-guy-attitude that girls like me go gaga with! :)))) they said that emily owens is like a pattern of grey’s but i dunno…it’s different in a sense that it’s definitely more wholesome than grey’s and that it has a lighter feel:)) sorry, i’m a die hard fan of the series and it freakin breaks my heart when the cw decided to pull the plug :/ [tho i am in favor of micah..i still find will hot! haha!]

    1. gah, i haven’t seen sisterhood. kailangan ko ng kopya, ASAP! siya din type ko (kilig). yeah i know, you were actually one of the persons who inspired me to watch the show. let’s just pray na magka season 2, for the mean time, watch suits :]

      PS. Pags, I missed seeing your name on my dashboard. hehe :] thanks

  2. PS: try the song Ivory Coast by Emily Wolfe! it was the song playing when Micah and Emily were in the records room lying and talking about the possibility of taking their supposedly relationship to the next level.hoho. oh, and kiss quick by matt nathanson.haha! apologies for my info overloooad! :))

Leave a Reply

