Ice pop (the sour kind)

In 1905, 11 year old Frank Epperson accidentally left a glass of soda outside on his back porch with a wooden mixing stick in it. The next morning, he found that the soda water had frozen inside the glass and that by running it under hot water, he was able to remove and eat the frozen liquid using the stick as a handle. He kept his discovery for more than a decade and it wasn’t until 1923 that he applied for a patent for “frozen ice on a stick”, better known as Popsicles or Ice Pop.

Have you ever experienced going in a store thinking of buying a particular product only to leave carrying things that are far from what you’re supposed to buy? Thanks to being easily distracted, it often happens to me. One time, I went to Saizen, the authorized Philippine dealer of Daiso products (a Japanese brand), looking for I-forgot-what when this cute kitchen essential caught my fancy. Without second thought, I bought it because it’s only 88 pesos and I already imagined all the delicious (and relatively healthy) variations of frozen goodness I could make.

SONY DSC

SONY DSCWith Strawberry Shortcake Greek Yogurt Popsicle recipe of TheKitchenPaper as my inspiration, I set out to make my own popsicle. Tweaked some of the ingredients to my liking.

I’m calling it Mango Chocolate Chip Oat Cookie Greek Yogurt Popsicle. HAHAHA

Because I didn’t have a shortcake (aside from not knowing the difference with regular cake), I used Quaker Chocolate Chip Oat cookies instead.

SONY DSCNot a fan of strawberries (unless they come in syrup form) and bananas didn’t seem right for popsicles so I settled for mangoes. Good thing SM Supermarket sold them peeled, sliced and packaged.

SONY DSCAnother question I had in mind was the difference between Greek and regular yogurts (since when did food become so complicated?). After a few searches, I found  out that Greek Yogurt is yogurt which has been strained in a cloth or paper bag or filter to remove the whey (which is why it’s also called Strained yogurt), giving a consistency between that of yogurt and cheese, while preserving it’s distinctive sour taste (it’s tangier, actually). Because of the straining, Greek yogurt has double the amount of protein and roughly half the carbs compared with regular ones. A word of warning though: 7 to 8 ounces of full-fat Greek yogurt have more fat content than 3 bars of chocolate so you better stick with low-fat or fat-free versions.

Unfortunately for me, I bought full-fat and I could hear my hopes for a healthier popsicle go down the drain.

SONY DSCTo compensate, I used Low fat milk. ktnxbye.

Directions: Crush the cookies and slice the mangoes. Add milk to the yogurt and mix 3/4 and the remaining 1/4 of the preparation with the mangoes and cookies respectively. Not sure about the measurements, just gauge for yourself.

SONY DSCFill the container with the yogurt+mangoes concoction up to 3/4 level only.

SONY DSCThe cookies+yogurt will occupy the last 1/4 for dramatic effect. Put on the holder one by one. Due to the displacement method, do not fill the container up to the brim lest you want yogurt to seep through the sides, very messy.

SONY DSCRefrigerate.

SONY DSCRun the container under hot or tap water (temperature is inversely proportional with the amount of time needed) to remove the popsicles and Voila! Perfect for any kind of weather.

SONY DSCDo not pull too hard because there’s a tendency that only the stick will come off and it will irritate the hell out of you. Also, make sure that you put the yogurt evenly and air is dispelled for a perfectly-shaped popsicle, not one that is chipped. Lastly, the one I made was kinda sour for other people’s tastes so I suggest you use regular yogurt, or add honey or vanilla extract or whatever.

Happy licking!

One thought on “Ice pop (the sour kind)

Leave a Reply

