My Secret Shifter

Years ago, I joined the bandwagon and read Rhoda Byrnes’ The Secret and though I obviously did not become a dedicated devotee of the book (I remember wanting to master the “Secret” at that time), one concept that stuck was “Secret Shifters”.

Secret Shifters are tools that could help change your feelings in an instant. It might be a thing that reminds you of good memories, a picture that makes you laugh, a tiny gesture like expressing gratitude or simply, music. The author encouraged her readers to list down (or was it put them in a box?) these so-called Secret Shifters and then recall/look at them whenever one is in a sour mood or feeling blue so the law of attraction would bring positive energy or something like that.

I don’t remember any other of the half a dozen Secret Shifters I wrote back then but one thing remained after all this time. It’s a song actually. One by my favorite band The Beatles and one that was voted as the worst song ever in an online poll back in 2004. Unless you lived under a rock, I know you’ve heard of it, one way or another. The title is Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da.

http://www.beatlesbible.com/wp/media/italy_obladi_oblada.jpg
http://www.beatlesbible.com/wp/media/italy_obladi_oblada.jpg

Though the song is credited to Lennon-McCartney, it was only Paul who wrote it. In fact, according to a sound engineer, Lennon had grown tired of recording it over and over that he arrived at the studio one time really stoned, went straight to the piano and “smashed the keys with an almighty amount of volume, twice the speed of how they’d done it before” (Richer Lush) which brought to life my most favorite part: the high-spirited intro.

These past few days I’ve been feeling down due to yiddy yadda blah blah blah boom boom pow and so the play count of Ob-La-Di on my iTouch has grown exponentially.

Every time I’m in the verge of falling, I listen to this song over and over again and my mood is somehow improved. Though it’s temporary and I’m back to the brink after some time, the thought of contentment and simplicity that is apparent in the story Desmond and Molly and the fact that life, just like recording, goes on even if the singer accidentally sang the wrong lyrics lift my spirits. Add that to the reggae and ska-inspired musical accompaniment and The Beatles being The Beatles and I’m good.

This is a song that makes me happy.

Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da life goes on, bra/Lala how the life goes on.

Leave a Reply

