Support The Penniless Nurse (STPN): Living off Ramm

STPN is inspired by J-Zaf’s STPWW.

For the first time in months (or years), I actually have extra money despite it being the latter half of the week. This was achieved by leaving my cards and moolah at home so I am forced to make do with the minimal amount I bring. I only remembered this minor glitch though when I realized I didn’t have enough money to pay for the ridiculously overpriced 15 peso brown envelope (let alone lunch) while standing in line at a certain booth in PRC. Good thing Ramm arrived to save the day. From the postage stamps to photocopy of documents, from lunch to FX fares, he paid for everything plus loads of good laughs in between. I enjoyed living off him. Thanks bebe! :]

Before heading out to lunch, we dropped by Simple Line in front of PRC in Morayta because someone recommended the place to Ramm.

SONY DSCWhen faced with an extensive menu, I either have the urge to try everything or I settle for something familiar. In this case, I had Wintermelon Oolong Tea.

SONY DSCSeriously, it’s really nice not having to pay for anything. The comfort of not having to search your unorganized bag for your purse. Thank God for friends who are there through thick and thin. haha.

SONY DSCMy sugar level was 0% and I still found the drink too sweet though not as sweet as Gong Cha’s Wintermelon (which I realized has too much glucose when compared with other WMs).

SONY DSCThe night before our meet-up, Ramm has been itching to try a place that served Sisig. He didn’t know the name of the establishment but I had a hunch that it was King Sisig and I was right. This fast food has a branch along Pedro Gil which my father also raved about because of their sisig’s notoriety when it comes to spiciness.

SONY DSCUpon ordering, you can choose the “Anghang Meter” of your dish ranging from Mild to Super Hot. I searched Google for the Scoville Scale and learned that it indicates the amount of Capsaicin present. Capsaicin is a chemical compound that makes our nervous systems think that the tissue it comes into contact with is burning. Hence, the hotness when we eat spicy (capsaicin-rich) food. Super Hot ranges from 33,000 to 66,000 SHU. Jalapeno is only between 3,500 to 8,000 SHU while Pepper sprays are usually 1.5 to 2 million SHUs. Nice to know.

SONY DSCRamm, not a big fan of spicy foods, ordered Mild and he still sweat heavily while eating.

SONY DSCWhile I settled for Medium. Nope, it wasn’t spicy at all. Should have tried Hot or even Extra Hot.

SONY DSCOn our way to Robinson’s Manila from the new DFA office, we were laughing so hard about a story Ramm shared the lady seated in front of the FX gave us evil stares. Which we reciprocated with more boisterous laughter. Ha ha!

SONY DSCAt Robinson’s, we ran into Ms. Dator and Ms. Vitug, two of our clinical instructors. It just so happens that Ms. Dator is Ramm’s second degree aunt. She was so nice (even during college, she has struck me as someone professional with the kind of patience that put mine to shame) she treated Ramm and I to Gong Cha drinks. On another occasion I would have declined because one colored drink is enough for a day but it’s Ms. Dator and I was too shy to say no. hehe. Thanks Miss!

SONY DSCI survived the day without spending a dime. That’s what friends are for. Until the next STPN. Yay!

Leave a Reply

