Makiling Botanic Gardens 9 years later

I first went to Makiling Botanic Gardens as a 12 year-old Grade 6 student attending the National Schools Press Conference in 2004. Now I’m back as a 21-year old not-so-fresh college grad still out of work. haha. When I realized that the two visits were almost a decade apart, I was shocked at how time flies by fast (what a cliche, right?) because the memory of the denim-jacket wearing Rani walking through the same place seemed fresher than 9 years.

SONY DSCEntrance fee was 20 pesos and the garden is open from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. We arrived at 3:30 PM but the caretaker was kind enough to let us stay up to 4:30 PM. It’s nice to walk inside the garden without time constraints. I remember, we were strictly following a schedule during my NSPC days and we were only given 20 minutes or so to appreciate the beauty of the place which kinda sucks. That’s why I am a strong advocate of DIY trips with no fixed itineraries, you can stay as long (or as short) as you want without a tour coordinator nagging behind you. The place looked exactly like how I remembered it.

SONY DSCMostly Emman’s shots because I’m a bad and impatient photographer.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCThe dried leaves make up for an awesome background I lay then and there and told Emman to take pictures. It would be too narcissistic of me to post them all so I am putting a picture of him instead. :]

SONY DSCBy this time, I was feeling the ache in my legs. The night before, I ran 5 KM without stretching whatsoever in Outbreak BGC 2 and then I walked around UPLB and hiked a part of the Makiling Trail. For a body that is used to just sitting or lying around, that’s a sudden jerk of activity. My legs were shaking and every step elicit a sweet and painful sensation.

SONY DSCI sat down on the nearest bench and rested for a bit.

SONY DSCBut then Emman started teasing me saying how dare I dream of climbing Peak 2 when I can’t even handle Flatrocks and a little walking around so I forced my thighs for a jump shot. IN. YOUR. FACE!

SONY DSCBut I am no match for his stamina. The bitch didn’t catch his breath even once during our tour!

SONY DSCOr not? haha. After visiting the Botanical Garden, we decided we’ve had enough exercise for one day  and changed our original plan to walk home. We instead waited for a Jeepney at the nearest shed.

SONY DSCHello tired feet! Thank you for bearing with me.

SONY DSCWhen we arrived at Marie’s apartment, we removed our shoes and went straight to bed without even bothering to change our dirty clothes. I dozed off after some time and when I woke up, it was already dark. Nothing like sleeping when you’re dead tired!

2 thoughts on “Makiling Botanic Gardens 9 years later

Leave a Reply

