How I received my first rejection via email

Since nursing jobs are hard to come by in this country due to a surplus of nursing graduates, I decided to apply for a part time job as an English tutor in a company my high school friend recommended me. I sent my resume via email and the company replied saying I was eligible for interview via Skype. I asked my high school friend who was employed by the company if the interview was hard. She assured me that I’d pass, that the questions were just basic.

I was interviewed last October 9 and I’d like to believe I did well especially because I correctly read “cocoa” and correctly differentiated “advice” from “advise”. The guy who interviewed me even laughed at some of my jokes. After fifteen minutes, he thanked me for my time and said my application would be reviewed and they’d call me by afternoon the next day. It’s been more than a week and still, they did not call.

I already knew that I failed the online interview. But then again, another part of me repeated the whole quarter of an hour interview in my head (at least the things I remember) and I kept on thinking about where I failed, what among my answers dissatisfied my prospective employer, and etcetera.

On top of that, I dared to send them an email to follow up on my application. I don’t know, maybe I wanted the words “you failed” (flowered with adjectives and praises of course but still a failure when bared) in my face. I want to be 100% sure without imagining (more like hoping) that someone lost my contact information and etcetera. As the saying goes, “do not assume unless otherwise stated”. I did not want to be left hanging.

And I realized that closure is very important in all kinds of relationships be it personal or professional. Especially for professional. For example my dear HRs, if I submit a resume and you think I am in no way fit for your company, just tell me flat out “I’m sorry but you are not what we are looking for” or “nope, not gonna cut it” instead of “We’ll call you in a day or two“. Not even the blatant “don’t call us, we’ll call you” because some people are stupid enough to believe that you’d call them. And what’s with “we regret to inform you” when you’re not truly sorry? Yeah, courteousness. The world would be a much better place if honesty started with job hiring. Don’t worry about broken hearts and broken dreams, we’re humans and humans have no choice but move on. In fact, by telling the truth, you are helping applicants since clean cut wounds heal easier.

I digress. Back to my application, I sent an email and received this:

I’m a bit crushed for failing my first job interview and for failing at something majority of my high school friends have passed. I’m a bit sad because I was confident that I’d make it. Because I believed my friend when she told me the interview would surely be a piece of cake for me. Because I really wanted to earn money while waiting for the hospitals where I submitted my resume to call me.  I was sad because I failed [period]. I appreciate the management though for sending me points for improvement I could work on.

And since I have a tendency to seek comfort from food when sad and I did not want to anymore since I am trying to lose weight (yeah you read that right, trying. mehehe), I sent Dai a message in FB and she comforted me better than a bag of Lay’s could. Love you Bebe! (Yep we chat like that HAHA)

BTW, Jeremiah 29:11 = “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

After our chat, we had a video call where I heard her laugh resonating from my laptop while watching the video “Sino si Ramon Bautista (yung pogi!)“. Plus I saw Dams and Ramm who were having a sleepover at her condo.

Then I remembered a story I heard yesterday regarding Dai’s friend who failed the CPA Board exams. According to Dai, her friend’s mom sent her a text saying “I’m proud of you anak, for you have experienced failure.”. And I could hear God telling me the same thing, “I am proud of you my child, for you have experienced failure“.

And as if God knew my being blue (which He does, of course), while I was scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed, I saw this:

I shared the poster and tagged Dai asking her to come with me. She said yes. I immediately searched for tickets online and I was crushed because Ticketnet said theirs were already sold out. Wow! Just four hours after the release of the poster and the tickets were already sold out! I did not give up. I searched for telephone numbers of the other sellers and sent them to Dai since she has a  land line. My hopes were not high when I slept but when I woke up this morning, I saw Dai’s post on my Facebook wall saying she was able to reserve two VIP tickets and we were to pick them up at Music Musuem on Monday! Beat that!

I AM SO EGGSZITED. THANK YOU LORD!

One thought on “How I received my first rejection via email

Leave a Reply

