Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand

Finally, after months of waiting for the premiere,  hours of buffering because of the slow internet connection, and loading four times because the link keeps on showing error, I have seen How I Met You Mother Season 8 episode 1 entitled Farhampton!

http://uthmag.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/How-I-met-your-Mother-Season-8.jpg

Season 7 ended when it was revealed that Robin was Barney’s bride. In the last hundred or so episodes, I should have had enough already of all the called off weddings and on-off relationships given that I easily get bored when the story goes round and round. Surprisingly, I’m not. I actually became more and more attached especially now that I would have to wait for an episode a week instead of doing a marathon.

HIMYM is one series I never thought I’d like but in Dai’s words, I now feel as if Ted, Barney, Lilly, Marshall (my favorite!) and Robin were actually my friends. If ever this would be the last season (stop while you’re still ahead), I would really miss the gang. In one scene where Barney sort of summarized 7 years in 52 seconds, I felt a pang of nostalgia because I remember everything he mentioned.

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mavw17fvqH1rrf75p_frame1.jpg

One of the many things I love about the series is how the creators play with our perception of time, moving years forward and backward while still keeping the story line intact. They again proved their genius because just like what was prophesied on previous episodes/seasons, Ted would meet his kids’ mother (complete with the yellow umbrella and guitar) on the day of Barney and Robin’s wedding.

Another interesting scene is the conversation between Ted and Klaus (groom of Victoria, the girl who, as of the first episode, is running away with Ted on her wedding day, wearing her wedding gown).

http://www.beawesomeinstead.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Victoria-Wedding.jpg

Klaus: There is a word in German: Lebenslangerschicksalsschatz. And the closest translation would be “Lifelong Treasure of Destiny”. And Victoria is wunderbar, but she is not my Lebenslangerschicksalsschatz. She is my Beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand, you know? It means “the thing that is almost the thing that you want but is not quite.” Das ist Victoria to me.

Ted: How do you know she’s not Lebenslangerschicksalsschatz? I mean, maybe as the years go by, she’ll get Lebenslangerschicksalsschatz-ier.

Klaus: Oh, nein, nein, nein. Lebenslangerschicksalsschatz is not something that develops over time. It is something that happens instantaneously. It courses through you like the water of a river after a storm, filling you and emptying you all at once. You feel it throughout your body, in your hands, in your heart, in your stomach, in your skin… Of course you feel it in your Schlauchmachendejungen. Pardon my French. Have you ever felt this way about someone?

Ted: Yeah, I think so.

Klaus: If you have to think about it, you have not felt it.

Ted: And you’re absolutely sure you’ll find that someday?

Klaus: Of course. Everyone does eventually. You just never know when or where.

First, it triggered my currently dormant fascination with Germany. Now I crave for cured meat/sausages and beer.

Second, it awakened the hopeless romantic in me. Why must you include me in your delusions about love, Ted Mosby? Why?

Leave a Reply

