no. 183 – Mirror Writing

I first learned about mirror writing when I read Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code. Then it reminded me of an item in a quiz my general science teacher gave the class when I was in first year high school. It composed of a photo of random letters in different directions and the question was which of the choices is the mirror image of the picture. Though I was wrong, I never really forgot it so I decided to learn how to “mirror write” after finishing Brown’s book.

http://petojurak.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/the_golden_ratio_and_leonardo_da_vinci.jpg

Mirror writing is formed by writing in the direction that is the reverse of the natural way for a given language, such that the result is the mirror image of normal writing: it appears normal when it is reflected in a mirror (Wikipedia).

I started writing in printed letters then eventually tried cursive as well. When I’m bored in class, I always doodle my name or lyrics of songs I like. Hence, I can write my full name better than other words.

SONY DSCFor the Oral Revalida (some sort of pass or fail exam that had a huge bearing on our final grades), I wrote The Optimist’s Creed by Christian Larson on the first page of my review notebook for inspiration. Never mind that I did not write in a straight line because I always have a hard time with un-ruled notebooks (though I love them more than ruled ones) even when writing normally.

SONY DSCEver since the end of review classes for the board exams, I rarely held a pen. In fact, at some point I even questioned myself if I could still write legibly, much more mirror write. You see, like all talents (naks), it needs practice and almost 3 months of idleness did bad on my hand. Today, I picked up the wonderful pen Tords gave me (smooth and it blots the paper beautifully) and wrote a quote from the book I am currently reading, Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. My penmanship has become worse.

SONY DSCIn front of the mirror…

SONY DSCI will practice some more.

Leave a Reply

