I can’t.

I was fighting the impulse to watch Sherlock again for the third time and I failed (watched it today). Now I’m fighting the urge for the fourth BUT IT WOULDN’T LEAVE ME.

When I go to bed and close my eyes, the soundtrack plays in my head. When I read a book, I find myself thinking of the third season and all the possibilities. When I am surfing the internet, the stream of online accounts (Science of Deduction, Dr. Watson’s Blog) grip me unless I have read every post, Molly’s blog included. Images from my favorite scenes keep appearing in a slideshow right before my eyes and quotes from my favorite conversations find their way into my ears.

And like that craving you know would never leave you until it is satisfied, I hope this post would lessen my somewhat unhealthy attachment to the series. Spoil those who would be spoiled.

When I watched the episodes for the third time most especially The Reichenbach Fall, it was amazing because I saw Moriarty and Sherlock’s rooftop confrontation on a new light. I finally understood why Sherlock laughed and why Moriarty did you-know-what. I might be the only one who did not get this on the first viewing but I really had a hard time understanding what the actors were saying especially when they talk too fast or too soft. Non-native English speaker right here.

http://janela-fictionmostly.blogspot.com/2012/05/brit-day-777_21.html

Although when I read the novels and canons the Sherlock in my imagination was less lazy and harsh, I believe that Benedict Cumberbatch captures the “high-functioning-Asperger’s” perfectly. Of course there would be differences between the 1800s and our modern day Sherlock. One of the things I wish they’d put more emphasis on though, is Holmes’ talent in disguise. As far as I can remember, in two seasons he only camouflaged once (as a security guard) when in Doyle’s works he’d do it sometimes twice in one story.

One of my favorite scenes was Cumberbatch throwing wine on his face and pretending to be drunk in the unaired pilot. That right there is genuine Sherlock Holmes, someone who’d willingly do the “legworks”. It was removed in the actual Study in Pink shown on television but I hope similar touches would be seen in the future.

Also, it was awesome that they gave justice to James Moriarty’s character first by casting Andrew Scott and second by making him, more than the arch enemy and consulting criminal, a calculating machine who plans everything out, a spider on a web of thousands of strings, each of them he knows exactly how to use. As I recall, Moriarty in Doyle’s writings was a mathematical genius who wrote a book about the subject no one in the scientific field could criticize.

http://imageshack.us/f/15/sherlocks02e03mkvsnapsh.jpg/

I really can’t wait for season three *fangirl scream*.

Leave a Reply

