no. 92 – Finish the Brain Teaser I bought at National Bookstore

The National Bookstore branch in Robinson’s Manila is a very familiar place to me. First of all, I passed by the store almost every day for four years. Plus, whenever I need to wait for someone, I always loitered there, browsing through all the books that I intend to buy when I have the money and typing down the titles in my phone just in case I forget. One time, I saw a brain teaser which costs only 25 pesos so I bought it. And I added the no. 192 on my bucket list to be motivated to finish the said puzzle.

I didn’t know what it’s actually called. The closest thing that came to mind was Tangram but I found out via Wikipedia that Tangram is composed of seven pieces and this puzzle only has four. Anyway, I’d still call it Tangram for lack of better term. Obviously, the objective is to copy the drawn shapes using only the four pieces provided. There are 40 all in all and thank God, I was able to finish years after I bought the puzzle. The patterns are shown below.

It’s not that I solved this every single day for years. After buying, I tried a couple of shapes and gave up after solving six because I found it hard. Then, I just set it aside in one part of the study table and let it rot. Months of procrastination followed with excuses of school, projects, case studies, graduation, board exam review, post-board exam celebration etcetera until I cannot find any more reasons not to start solving again. Hence, I brought it home with me and finished the remaining 44 shapes in 2 days, less than three hours per day. Like writing a paragraph, it’s only hard in the beginning. Then your brain begins to imagine the pieces and starts appreciating them especially the 5-sided one. Before you know it, you find yourself moving just a piece or two and then a totally different shape is formed.

I will post the solution not because I want to spoon-feed those who bought the same product (nothing beats the feeling of accomplishment without cheating, believe me). Just want to share that I really did it (yey)! The ones on a white background are those that I solved in Manila. The red ones, here in Isabela.

4 piece yellow puzzle brain twister solution: first 20 (on the back of the packaging)

Second 20 on a white sheet inside the box.

4 thoughts on “no. 92 – Finish the Brain Teaser I bought at National Bookstore

  1. Howdy! I understand this is somewhat off-topic
    however I needed to ask. Does running a well-established blog like yours require a large amount of work?
    I am completely new to blogging however I do
    write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

