The Highest Place in HK Island

We planned on going to The Peak earlier to explore the place more plus I wanted to walk the nature trails and visit the Peak Tram gallery and all that but things do not always go according to plan (thanks to people who lack sense of time). Another concept I learned to accept and welcome during this trip was flexibility. I remember what I read in The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood. Penelope’s mom, a naiad, told her that she was half water and water, instead of being rigid and solid, was flexible and able to flow anywhere. I liked the thought. The exact quote was:

Water does not resist. Water flows. When you plunge your hand into it, all you feel is a caress. Water is not a solid wall, it will not stop you. But water always goes where it wants to go, and nothing in the end can stand against it. Water is patient. Dripping water wears away a stone. Remember that, my child. Remember you are half water. If you can’t go through an obstacle, go around it. Water does.

Anyway, we rode the MTR and got off at Central station, J2 exit. The peak tram station was a 10 to 15 minute hike (because the roads, though concrete, were steep) through Garden Road. We saw beautiful buildings along the way including these two.

eee (6)We arrived at the Peak late which I guess was just fine because artificial lights cannot be appreciated during broad daylight. The air was cold (of course the altitude was high). I was happy when I saw the view because I really like city lights. Guess if ever I’d take drugs, I’ll prefer acid because according to our pharmacology lecturer, it’s a visual hallucinogen as compared with MJ which is a tactile hallucinogen.

eee (7)We did not go to the Sky Terrace because we arrived late and we figured it would not be worth it due to limited time. I wanted to enter Madame Tussauds but my friends discouraged me because they thought it was impractical. At first I still wanted to go against their will, even if I went alone. But a little thinking over my Burger King meal gave me some sense. First, I could use the 165 HKD entrance fee for other more reasonable expenses. Second, when I looked closer at the James Bond figure displayed outside, it did not look life-like to me. More like shiny plastic mannequin. Ok, maybe I’m just sour graping HAHA. But I really did not feel that bad.

SONY DSCInstead, we just had our hands molded by paraffin wax (same thing used in candles). First we made the sign we wanted. Peace, promise, closed fist, the middle finger, etcetera. Then it was alternately dipped into warm paraffin wax and cold water to speed up the process of hardening the wax.

SONY DSCThen the waxer (?) expertly removed the molds from our hands and put it in a base. The bare waxhand cost 50 HKD. Additional 10 for the base and another 10 if you want colors to be added. It was only after the initial bout of curiosity (and after almost everyone already bought theirs) that we realized it was a liability to carry around because the thing was very fragile. In the store I saw pictures of F4 from the Meteor Garden fame and I don’t know why but the thought that I occupied the same space they did made me smile. haha

SONY DSCSince most of the stalls inside The Peak were already closing, we went outside and took pictures. Here with my beloved thesis-mates Rochelle and Abi. :]

SONY DSCThe compulsory group picture. Special thanks to the Chinese stranger who took it. We were one of the last passengers to leave the place. Peak tram’s last journey is at 12 mn. Operating hours start at 7 am and it goes to and from the Peak every 10 to 15 minutes.

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

