no. 56 – donate blood

July 23, 2010

After two failed attempts (first one, I was anemic. second one, I just had my monthly period), at long last, I was able to donate 450 cc of blood!

It was a very fulfilling experience. Knowing that it will be given to people who most need it.

During the screening (to check whether you are feasible or not to become a donor), I was really nervous because the first time I attempted to donate, I was rejected (minimum concentration of hemoglobin needed is 120 mg/dL, mine was 112. that’s when I learned I was freaking anemic). Good thing I barely passed with 123 mg/dL.

The insertion of a gauge 16 or 17 needle (translation: really BIGGG you can use it as a telescope. Okay. I kid.) was not that painful. The lancet from the blood screening was worse. But frankly speaking, the hair on my back rose at the sight of the needle. And the staff fed my anxiety by saying that he cannot palpate any blood vessel in my forearm and that he will “try” to look for one (I later learned it meant inserting the needle in a possible location and when no blood gushes out, pulling the needle a couple of millimeters and pushing it again to the right, to the left, upwards and downwards until blood comes out).

I did not experience any dizziness or whatever. Just follow the instructions and rest for 10 to 15 minutes after the extraction.

Did you know…

The volume of your blood goes back to its original amount 2 to 3 days after you donate (thanks GOwin)? While the number of red blood cells goes back to pre-donation amount within 30-60 days?

That’s why you can donate every 3 months 🙂 And I plan on doing that.

Also, by donating blood, you are not only helping other people since it also benefits your health…

  • When we donate blood, our bone marrow is stimulated to produce new red cells. This will make our blood forming organs active.
  • After donation, you will be given a Donor’s card. Using this, you will be given priority in case of blood needs.
  • The satisfaction you get by knowing that you have helped others is just A-W-E-S-O-M-E-!

So what are you waiting for? DONATE NOW!!!

Red Cross Philippines

Or you can go to Philippine General Hospital (PGH). Just tell the person in charge that you are a donor so you won’t have to queue. 🙂

2 thoughts on “no. 56 – donate blood

  1. Good job for giving blood! I hope you keep it up.

    i know this is an old post but it came up during a search and I just wanted to make a clarification re blood volume recovery, “minutes-hours”
    Two to three days after donation, your plasma volume will return to normal. Best to drink plenty of water and juices during this time to help you recover your blood volume. Alcohol drinks are *not* recommended. (But I’ve done that. LOL). Recovering the volume in “minutes” is not possible.

    Your bone marrow will produce new red blood cells and will return to normal level anywhere between 30-60 days. And women usually takes a bit longer to recover RBCs compared to men, because of “those days”. This recovery rate may vary from person to person.

    I normally give blood every 3-4 months, depending on my schedule or where I’m at, but they remind new donors to come again every 6 months.

Leave a Reply

